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Racing Rules of Sailing

The Call Book for Match Racing, Additional Question in New MR Call C3 (130-13)

A submission from the Chairman of the Racing Rules Committee

Purpose or Objective

To clarify and give a 'black and white' answer to a situation that has been called inconsistently for
years.

Proposal

Create new Question 2 in MR Call C3 with one of the proposed answers shown below, and if
needed, amend TR Call C3 accordingly.

MR CALL C3

Rule 22.1 Starting Errors
Rule 24.2 Interfering with Another Boat

Question 1

The starting signal is made at position 1 and Blue is signalled as being OCS. Blue bears away to
return to the starting line. At position 2, Blue is able to cross in front of Yellow if Yellow holds her
course.

Yellow bears away to prevent Blue from crossing her. Blue luffs and keeps clear. There is a Y-flag.
What should the call be?
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Answer 1

Display the green and white flag.

Although Blue has not started correctly, Yellow is not interfering with a boat on 'another leg of the
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course', so rule 24.2 does not apply. In addition, rule 22.1 does not apply until Blue has born away
sufficiently to be sailing towards the pre-start side of the starting line. Rule 11 applies and Blue is
keeping clear of Yellow.

Question 2

Will rule 24.2 apply when Blue starts sailing a course towards the starting line?

Answer 2 (Alternative 1)
No. Both boats are on the leq to the windward mark.

Answer 2 (Alternative 2)
Yes. Because Blue has not started and is sailing towards the starting line to start, she is on
different leq than Yellow.

Current Position

As above. (MR Call C3 as submitted this year.)

Reasons

1. MR Call C3 begs for an answer to whether the situation changes with regard to rule 24.2
when an OCS boat is actually sailing towards the pre-start side of the line to start (and rule
22.1 applies too). One answer is given in TR Call C3, however these two calls are not quite
the same. Giving a clear answer in MR Call C3 and if needed amending TR Call C3
accordingly will increase consistency, not only within match racing, but between the two
disciplines.

2. One difference between those two calls is that in TR Call C3 the OCS boat has never been
on the pre-start side of the starting line, whereas in MR Call C3 the OCS boat has 'started’,
but too early, and until she is sailing back towards the starting line (or one of its extensions)
to start she is considered to be on the windward leg. If she continues sailing the course, she
maintains her rights - but will be scored OCS by the RC without a hearing. (This principle is
supported through several cases in the ISAF Case Book: Cases 28, 31, 34 and 65.) If she
returns to start - and while she is then sailing towards the line to start correctly - she is
subject to rule 22.1 and must keep clear. Until she does - she is simply on the windward leg,
although she has made a mistake/broken a rule at the start.

3.  Including the proposed Question 2 to this call will answer the question: Is there a 'leg of the
course' before starting, or: when you have not started, are you on 'another leg' than a boat
that has started?

4.  The requirements in rule 28 contain three distinct parts: starting, sailing the course and
finishing. A boat can do one or two of these without doing all three:

e A boat that does not start correctly but sails the course, retains her rights and will, if
she finishes, be scored OCS by the RC.

e A boat that starts correctly, but makes a mistake in sailing the course, retains her
rights and will, if she finishes, be scored as finished - and then there should be a
protest under rule 28.
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e A boat that starts correctly and sails the course but does not finish, will be scored
DNF by the RC.

5.  The RRS reflects these three parts:

e Rule 22.1 addresses the scenarios where one boat has started and another is 'returning
to start',

e rule 24.2 addresses situations where boats have had different progress on the race
course and therefore meet while being on different legs, and

e rule 24.1 addresses situations where one boat has finished (or retired) and stopped
racing while another is racing.




